Open Evening, Awards, AGM and BBQ

Posted on 2 July 2017

The Scout Group were blessed with good weather for their Open Evening, AGM and BBQ on Friday 17th June. Once again it was standing room only with over 75 parents and carers packed into HQ along with our Beavers, Cubs, Scouts, Young leaders and adult volunteers plus representatives from Ware and District and national Scouts to hear about many of the achievements over the last year and take part in the Group’s AGM.

During the evening there were several awards presented to both young people and adults alike.

Participation Award
The Scout Group’s Chairman, Gavin Miles presented participation awards to the boy or girl in each section who had ‘participated’ in their section’s scouting activities the most over the year. The awards went to:


  • Scout Troop – George Anderson


  • Panther Pack – Matthew Djemal
  • Jaguar Pack – Benjamin Borden


  • Woodland Colony – Finley Killen
  • Forest Colony – Keyaan Cottiss

Paul Pedroz Trophy
Group Scout Leader Paul Stretch presented the Paul Pedroz awards:-

  • Adam Watt – Scouts
  • Taylor Lee – Panther Pack Cubs
  • Sammy Keens – Jaguar Cubs
  • Milo Rock – Woodland Beavers
  • Keyann Cottiss – Forest Beavers

The overall winner of the Paul Pedroz Award for 2107 was presented to Adam Watt, who will have his name engraved on the plaque.

After these awards, the Chairman proceeded with the formal AGM element of the evening which covered the election of Chairman, Group Secretary, Treasurer, Auditor and members of the Executive Committee and the approval of the year’s accounts. The Chairman was particularly keen to encourage people to complete Gift Aid forms which would significantly help the Scout Groups annual income as this provides the Group with income directly from the Government (not individuals).  Please note that Gift Aid Forms can be download from your MyScout account.

The evening continued with the presentation of awards for some of our adult volunteers from The Scout Association.  These awards were presented by representatives from the Ware and District Scouts team, Pat Horridge, District Commissioner and Peter Rayman

The Scout Association’s 5 Year Service Award

  • Mark Watt – Executive Committee members, Membership Secretary

The Scout Association’s Wood Badge – for the completion of the adult training required for their new volunteering role in Scouting

  • Lucy Isham – Beaver Scout Leader
  • Fiona McKenzie-Smith – Assistant Scout Troop Leader
  • Helana Sundarajoo – Assistant Scout Troop Leader
  • Debbie Wren – Assistant Scout Troop Leader

The Scout Association’s Young Leader Scheme – completion certificate and belt buckle

  • Tristan Buxton

Chief Scout’s Awards

Pat Horridge, District Commissioner for Ware and District Scouts then presented Chief Scout Awards to the girls and boys who had completed all the requirements of the Chief Scout Award for their stage. The Chief Scout’s Award is the highest award a Beaver, Cub or Scout can achieve in their section and involves the completion of a number of challenge and activity awards.

The Chief Scout’s Bronze Award was presented to our Beaver Scouts:-

  • Jack Armstrong
  • Jack Seary
  • Lottie Moorcroft
  • Penny Beaujeux
  • Tamsin Southall
  • Thomas Ridout
  • Toby Felstead
  • William Brennan

The Chief Scout’s Silver Award was presented to Cub Scout:-

  • Joseph Stewart

The Chief Scout’s Gold Award was presented to Scouts:-

  • Connor Bryant
  • Jonah Dukes
  • Isabel Gardener
  • Max Hartwig-Green
  • George Anderson
  • Teddy Anderson
  • Iain Macpherson
  • Ben Stewart
  • Ruth Pattison
  • Megan Reeves

After much applause, everyone moved outside for the BBQ and campfire, with many people staying to enjoy the campfire until late into the late.

Copyright ©2018 1st Stanstead Abbotts and St Margarets Scout Group - All rights reserved - Registered Charity 302583

Website based on a design by Scout Websites


Aged 6-25?

Join the adventure